Den här översättningen är inte klar ännu. Den här sidan är just nu på engelska.

Gå till den engelska sidan

Breast cancer radiation showdown: 3D vs internal implants

NCT ID NCT00802711

What the study statuses mean

This study's is highlighted.

Recruitment status, easiest to join first

Recruiting now
This trial is taking on new participants right now.
Not yet recruiting
Registered, but not yet taking participants.
By invitation only
Not open to general applications. Only people the study team invites can take part.
Paused
Paused for now. It may or may not start again.
Ongoing
Running, but no longer taking on new participants.
Completed
The trial has finished. Results may not be published yet.
Stopped early This study
Stopped early, before it reached the end. That can be for many reasons, including safety.
Cancelled
Cancelled before anyone took part.

Expanded access (not trials)

Expanded access
Not a trial. This treatment can be requested outside a study, case by case, for people who qualify.
Expanded access (paused)
Not a trial. The treatment can normally be requested outside a study, but is unavailable right now.
Expanded access (ended)
Not a trial. The treatment could once be requested outside a study, but no longer can.
Approved
The treatment has been approved, so it is available normally rather than through this programme.

When the status isn't known

Details not published
The full record has not been published yet, so there is little to show here.
Status unknown
This status has not been confirmed recently, so it may be out of date.

First seen Jun 25, 2026 · Last updated Jun 27, 2026 · Updated 1 time

Summary

This study compared two types of radiation given after breast-conserving surgery for early-stage breast cancer: 3D conformal radiation (external beams) and internal brachytherapy (radioactive material placed in the breast). Only 6 women took part before the trial was stopped early. The goal was to see which method delivers radiation more effectively with fewer side effects, but the small size means no firm conclusions can be drawn.

What this could mean

Our plain-language read of the trial. This is informational only, not medical advice or a prediction.

Active substance
radiation therapy (3D conformal or brachytherapy)
What this could lead to
If successful, this could help determine which radiation method after breast surgery is better at preventing cancer return while reducing side effects.
What could go wrong
This trial was terminated early with only 6 participants, so results are very limited and may not apply to others. The small size means we cannot draw reliable conclusions.

This is an AI summary of the original study and may miss details. Read our disclaimer.

Study facts

What this study's own registry entry says, in plain language.

Phase

Not a phased trial

Phase numbers describe drug development. The registry uses this when they do not apply, as it does for trials of devices, procedures or behaviour changes, and for observational studies.

Participants

6 people

The number who actually took part.

Started

Oct 2009

Finished

Aug 2011

Lead sponsor

A research network

The lead sponsor is a research network or cooperative group.

Who can take part

This study's own entry requirements. Only the study team can say for certain whether you qualify.

Ages

50 to 120 years

Sex

Female participants only

Healthy volunteers

Not accepted

This study is not open to healthy volunteers. The entry requirements below say who it is open to.

Show the full entry requirements

Copied word for word from the study's registry entry, so the wording is the study team's rather than ours.

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: * Pathologically proven invasive ductal carcinoma of the breast * Stage I or II disease (pathological tumor size ≤ 3 cm, N0, M0 disease) * No T2 (tumor size \> 3 cm) or T3 disease * No lymph node (L0) or hemangiosis (V0) invasion * Unilateral, unifocal, and unicentric tumor without associated suspicious diffuse microcalcification in the ipsilateral or contralateral breast * No multifocal/multicentric disease * Previously treated with breast-conserving surgery with adequate axillary node management * Negative surgical resection margins for tumor (invasive tumor or ductal carcinoma in situ \[DCIS\]) on histology * Clearly identified primary tumor excision cavity (clips recommended) with a target lumpectomy cavity/whole breast ratio quantifiable and ≤ 25% on the post-operative CT scan * Patients with a lumpectomy cavity/whole breast ratio 25-30% are eligible but will undergo partial breast irradiation using multi-catheter interstitial brachytherapy during study * Breast size amenable to partial breast irradiation (i.e., \> A-cup size) * No other pathological invasive tumor or DCIS * No associated extensive DCIS component (\< 25%) * No associated Paget's disease of the nipple * Hormone receptor status not specified PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: * Menopausal status not specified * Not pregnant or nursing * Negative pregnancy test * Fertile patients must use effective contraception * No breast implants * No collagen vascular disease * No psychiatric condition or other condition that, in the opinion of the investigator, would preclude study requirements PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: * See Disease Characteristics * No prior radiotherapy * No concurrent chemotherapy * Sequential chemotherapy allowed * Concurrent hormonal therapy allowed

Get updates

Get notified about this study

Sign up to get updates when this study changes or when new studies for Breast cancer are added.

Vår säkerhetsrekommendation!

Genom att skicka in godkänner du våra Användarvillkor

Conditions

The condition(s) this trial relates to.

As listed by the trial registrant

The condition terms exactly as the trial's registrant entered them.

Contacts and locations

Locations

  • Saint Luke's Radiation Oncology Network

    Dublin, 6, Ireland

More trials for these conditions

Other studies related to the condition(s) this trial covers.